Four Qualities of Love

This meditation is said to help develop four qualities of love:

  • Friendliness (metta)
  • Compassion (caruna)
  • Appreciative Joy (mudita)
  • Equanimity (upekkha)


In addition to developing friendliness/lovingkindness (metta), compassion (caruna), appreciative joy (mudita) and equanimity (upekkha), Metta Meditation is designed to help:

  • Cultivate positive emotional state toward others and self
  • Bring more harmony into relationships by resolving existing difficulties and deepening connections
  • Help to overcome anger, resentment and hurt
  • Develop empathy, kindness, forgiveness and appreciation